Running in Style

When I hit the gym or go running, I definitely look a little more like this:

Even Posh looks a little rough after a good workout - via skinnyrunner.com

And a little less like this:

I estimate she burned about 3.2 calories during this workout

I am definitely one of those girls who will shamelessly roll my eyes at the girl in the VS Pink yoga pants, teeny tiny tank and pushup sports bra. If I have the slightest bit of makeup on my face while working out, I feel gross and sticky. My hair is ALWAYS up because if I didn’t pull it up I would just have a swaety, heavy mop stuck to the back of my head. I do not understand the girls who go to the gym, prance around on the stairmaster while BBM-ing 8000 wpm (yes I have someone specific I am referring to), and never seem to break the slightest hint of a sweat.

NEWSFLASH! You aren’t getting a workout.

But (yes, BUT) I recently did a little thinking about my race attire. I was browsing through old pictures of 5k races and with each one, all I could think was “Dear God WHY did I choose to wear THAT?!”

Evidence:

http://www.santabarbarapix.com/details.php?gid=1421&pid=300081

Seriously? What was I thinking. I can’t find all the other 5k pics but let’s just say I was having a love affair with those awful capris and a total lapse of judgement every time I got dressed and forgot pictures would be taken.

On Monday, I’m running a 4th of July 5k in Newbury Park and I’ve been giving some much needed thought to the day’s outfit. I have a super cute Nike running skirt that I got at Nordstrom Rack for $24.99. I think this is the same one. However, all of my running shirts are crazy bright colors and I’d really like to rep some RW&B. I got an American Flag bandana that I might use as a headband, vut my goal is to find a cute red or blue running shirt (for cheap) before Monday. Then, hopefully, I can post my first cute 5k picture on here proudly. I really like those cute Champion babydoll tops but they stopped selling them, so I think I might have to snag the knockoff at the Targ.

Anyways, I ran 4 miles on Sunday, 2 on Monday and 1.5 yesterday. I’m taking today as a rest day because my ankle’s been a little sore after each run, but I have plans to run 5 miles Saturday with an old friend from High School. Sunday will probably be a rest day and then the 5k on Monday. I need to get my butt in gear because October 30 will be here before I know it so it’s time to start logging some longer runs. If only I didn’t live in the middle of a million small hills…

That’s all I’ve got for now. XOXO

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Running in Style

  1. Pingback: Weekend Recap | girlsthatrun

Leave a Reply

