Overcoming the Treadmill and the Boy Turns 24

A week between posts… I have not been a good blogger this week. Possibly because Bikram Yoga has been sucking away my energy and time during the week. The good news is, I can now get through the 90 minutes with only one or two small breaks where I feel like I might die. We’ve also discovered that the Wednesday and Thursday night teachers turn on the fans when we lay down between postures. LIFE SAVING!

In other news, I have had no energy to wake up and run before work and being the middle of July, it’s just too hot to run outside after work. The only logical solution was that I had to hit the treadmill at the gym. I have never ever ever  enjoyed running on the treadmill. In fact, I have a running list of things I hate about running on the treadmill:

1. Lack of scenery – 24 Hour Fitness seems to think that FOX News and Dr. Oz are all people want to watch on TV while they do cardio. (Anyone else find Dr. Oz to be incredibly creepy and borderline perverted?)

2. The smells – why do people think it is OK to smoke/layer on perfume or cologne/not wear deodorant before going to the gym and running in very close proximity to other people.

3. Music – When I run outside, I don’t listen to music. It helps me focus on my breathing which is the biggest thing working against me when I run. I like to hear each breath and make sure I maintain a steady breathing pace so I don’t get side cramps. At the gym though, it’s impossible for me to go without my iPod. I feel like having no iPod at the gym is an open invitation for creepy old guys and meatheads to talk to me while I’m actually there to work out and not socialize.

However, despite all my complete contempt of running on the treadmill, I really had no choice this week. So I am proud to say I ran 2 20-min 2-milers 2 times this week. It’s not much (but a lot of 2’s), but for me that’s a HUGE accomplishment. I can run a decent 10 minute and hold a steady pace for 3-4 miles outside, but usually on the treadmill I’m cramped up and sweating after the first 1/4 mile, so I’m going to call this one a success for the week. I also did Bikram twice and lost 1.5 lbs after each class – SCORE!

Finally, last week we celebrated J’s and his twin sister Tiffany’s birthday.

We went to a delicious BBQ restaurant for dinner with their parents and Kyle, where I consumed my weight in onion rings, beer, and a tri tip sandwich.

Then, on Friday, I took Jas out to our FAVORITE MOST AMAZING WONDERFUL restaurant on Earth, Lady Face Ale Companie. It’s a microbrewery with some seriously incredible beers and great food, with a super cool, laid back rustic vibe. Unfortunately, while we were there I realized that I left my camera’s memory card in my computer, but take my word, the food is to die for. We both had a Tripel and an IPA, then we split the pretzel bread with mustard dipping sauces and the IN-CRED-I-BLE macaroni and cheese. They bake it with a salt and vinegar potato chip crust. A little strange but a lot phenomenal.

On that note, I’ll finish up today’s post with a few pictures from J’s birthday party last Saturday. Just like the good old college days only no one puked and we were all asleep by 1AM.

Our resident non-drinker pretending to play BP with the boys

Me with my dad - who will also be running his first half marathon with me!

Jaybo and my dad. No idea what they were laughing at but one probably was insulting the other 🙂

Our fish Turok partied too

My parentals - love them

Love of my life is finally 24!!

We were more excited about coffee than booze

Frat boy bromance/honor poseLegendary BP Champs

Leave a comment

Filed under Party Time

Leave a Reply

