I Have Bad Timing

I have this really bad habit where I plan things in advance, knowing full-well that I will probably regret the timing of whatever my plan is as it gets closer, but I somehow convince myself that it’s a good idea anyways.

I think the Rock N Roll LA Half is one of those things.

I don’t mean that I think I won’t be ready for 13.1 miles by October 30. I’m enjoying the set training plan I have and I have 100% confidence that I would be totally ready for it. My worry comes from this simple fact:

The half is the Sunday before Halloween meaning it is also the day after the Saturday before Halloween.

Get my drift?

I LOVE HALLOWEEN. I literally start planning my costume around the second week of November for the upcoming year. In deciding to run this half, I barely thought about the fact that it was the day before Halloween. I just figured “OK cool, I can run the half then have a nice, fun Halloween the next day and binge on 800 lbs of candy and be totally OK because the half is over.”

Then I remembered that I am not a real-life, working, responsible adult. Which means that with Halloween falling on a Monday and me having to return to (and function at) work the following day, most celebrations of this glorious holiday will be taking place on Friday and Saturday before my first ever half marathon.

UGH. See my dilemma? I want to run the half but I know that when all my friends are partying it up Saturday night I’m going to be pretty bummed to be sitting inside hydrating and wanting to go to bed at 8:00. Not fun.

I’m so excited to run my first marathon, and I’ve really come to love my 3-4 mile runs after work. I want to accomplish this goal, but I know when that weekend comes around I will be really bummed watching Jas and all our friends go out and have a great time. Even if I tag along, I will just be wanting to leave early to get to bed. So I think I might reconsider and sign up for a different half.

The ones I am thinking of are:

Holiday Half – 12/11

Malibu International Half – 11/13

Las vegas Rock ‘n’ Roll – 12/4

My question is: Has anyone run any of these? Which is your favorite or which would be best for a first-timer?

4 Comments

Filed under Running

4 responses to “I Have Bad Timing

  1. Vegas Rock n Roll! How Fun!!! I know a lot of people who will be doing it also.

  2. I’m signed up for the Vegas one too! I’m not sure I’ll be able to run it since I’m injury-city these days, but I want to!! It’s supposed to be a blast. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

