Duty Calls

Jury duty that is… And unfortunately since I live in Ventura County and not LA county I won’t be called in to serve on Loco Lohan’s inevitable next trial.

The last time I had jury duty it fell on the last day of Summer Vacation before my Sophomore Year. Talk about poor timing. At least today it is more like a day off of work.

This morning started bright and early with a trip up to the Ventura Courthouse. Of course I only packed the essentials and wore my finest footwear for the occasion.

I managed to get to the courthouse in enough time to score a coveted seat at a table near an outlet instead of the airplane terminal style chairs that force people to get a little too cozy with their neighbors. I even had time to fill my tank up with gas and grab my favorite coffee.

Panera Hazelnut Coffee w/ 1 Splenda and a splash of half & half

I am normally a Starbucks girl, especially when they have the Pumpkin Spice Latte back, but when it comes to just a plain ol’ cup of coffee, I will take Panera’s over anything else. I love when I get there and the sign says it was just brewed 5 minutes before – best. coffee. ever.

Now I’m just going to sit here for 2-3 more hours hoping I don’t get selected. I kid you not, it takes 4 hours of online menu scrutinizing for me to decide what to eat at a restaurant – how could I ever serve on a jury and have to make a decision regarding people’s lives?!! If you need me, I’ll be browsing 1800 new cookie recipes and home decorating ideas on Pinterest.

Also, the courthouse appears to still be using a wireless internet connection from 1999 so it’s very very slow – advance apologies for any weird formatting issues.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Duty Calls

  1. I have this coming up on my schedule too. Gawd, jury duty is just something I don’t have time for. It’s right up there with traffic school but at least with that you know it’s over at the end of the day. Not looking forward to it at alllllll!

  2. FOUR HOURS….holy cow. Boo to jury duty! Did you find any amazing cookie recipes?

  3. I have never had to do jury duty; hopefully I don’t jinx myself.

Leave a Reply

