Finally!

I FINALLY ran the 9-mile training run I’ve been struggling to get through – and it was GREAT! I got up yesterday morning to see the temperature was 47* – such an improvement from the last few weekends that it was 80+. I ate half of a Blueberry Crisp Clif Bar and out on my awesome Don’t Stop shirt from SkinnyRunner for some motivation.

Demonstrating my awesome running pose and self-timer picture skills.

I briefly debated wearing a light hoodie because it was SO much colder outside that I’m used to, but I’m glad I didn’t. During the first mile I thought my ringers were going to get frostbite and fall off and I swear my nose had a layer of ice in it, but once I warmed up I felt great and was glad I hadn’t worn any extra layers.

I took Shotbloks at miles 3 and 6 and starting sipping my lemon-lime NUUN along with them. I ended up finishing the 9 miles in 1:30! My goal was to keep a 10-minute pace the whole time and thanks to remembering my Nike+ I was able to do just that. I will admit, I pause my + at every stoplight and I am so looking forward to the half marathon when I won’t have to deal with ridiculously long lights!

When I got home, my mom was heading out to take my sister to a local breakfast spot called Chef Burger and said she’d treat me to breakfast if I came along. I got the All American Breakfast – 2 eggs, hashbrowns, 2 pancakes and bacon and I inhaled it (with a little help from my mom on the pancakes and hashbrowns).

There was so much food it came in 2 separate containers! I have to say, the pancakes were some of the best I have ever had – partly thanks to the amazing VANILLA maple syrup. To. Die. For.

After breakfast, I decided to do the right thing for my tired legs so I foam-rolled like it was my job and took the time to do 15 minutes of stretching after. This really paid off because I’m not sore at all today!

The rest of the day was spent out and about in Westwood with J as we had to use a Groupon to a framing store before it expired (in two days!). We dropped off the poster we were framing, split a sandwich at a cute little deli, then I had to swing by my 3rd home for a hot chocolate in a HOLIDAY CUP (YAY!!):

Those “No Peeking Until the Holidays” boxes are really doing a number on my already major lack of patience. I am itching for a new Starbucks Holiday Mug and I can’t wait to see what is in those boxes! I have a special requirement for my coffee mugs – the handle has to be big enough for me to get my whole hand through it for optimal hot drink comfort. I hope the new Christmas mugs are nice and big!

Last night was spent playing with the stray cat that lives in J’s neighborhood (we named him Paul):

After petting Paul for a bit, we headed over to Jodi and Casey’s for a delish dinner of Chicken Parmesan, spaghetti and salad with cookies and ice cream for dessert. The food was so good and I scarfed it all down before remembering to even get my camera out!

Today’s plan is to just be as lazy and possible and watch Harry Potter and The Walking Dead with J. I’m already meeting th elazy requirement with my outfit of yoga pants, a sweatshirt and UGGs 🙂

Congrats to everyone who ran RnR Savannah and the ING NY Marathon!!! I can’t wait to read all the race recaps from the weekend!

5 Comments

Filed under Goals, J, Running, Training, Weekends!

5 responses to “Finally!

  1. I had a 9 mile training run on the schedule too! Congrats for getting it done.. best feeling ever!

  2. woot woot, great job on rocking that nine miler! haha…and u look super cute in the SR shirt! 🙂

    umm, the best part of running is DUH getting able to eat just as hard as we workout…so that breakfast looks way too delicious! 🙂

    • You are SO right about that! Half the reason for my running is to have an excuse to refuel. And you better believe I use that excuse for the rest of the day to justify hot chocolate and dessert after dinner 🙂

  3. Pingback: I’ll Probably Regret This Later | girlsthatrun

Leave a Reply

