I’ll Probably Regret This Later

This could refer to so many things right now. I’ll probably regret the 18 mini Twix and Snickers I chomped at work today while battling Murphy’s Law. Seriously, try working in a job that has a large majority of their goals relying on 2 days in the holiday shopping season – stress much?

But that’s not what I’m referring to…

Tomorrow, I may regret the glass(es) of wine at dinner tonight… but no, that’s totally worthwhile and justified when laughing and catching up with old girlfriends (and it helps when the bill is discounted by, like, $30 randomly).

I also might regret blogging at 10:30 instead of sticking to my normal 9:40-in-bed-watching-NCIS schedule. But tomorrow is Friday, so I can suffer through one day of trying to not fall asleep at work.

I do love me some Dinozzo…

The thing I might regret come tomorrow is my decision to declare this to the (blog) world:

#RWRunStreak

Yes. I am clinically insane. I’ve decided to attempt to participate in this ridiculous challenge that includes running at least a mile a day from Thanksgiving to the New Year.

Now, one mile really isn’t much. Three years ago I would have looked at anyone determined to run a mile a day like they were out of their mind. Today, I see a one mile run as merely a 9-10 minute (depending on my mood/food I ate/weather) blip in my daily schedule. I’ve reached that whacked out runner’s mentality where anything less than 5 miles seems “short” and “easy”. The challenge for me will simply be finding the motivation and time in each and every day for over a month to change out of my boots and leggings, put on workout clothes, and get going. Whether that means waking up a few minutes earlier to run before work on days that I have after-work plans, or knocking my 3-day-per-week elliptical workout down by 10 minutes to fit in a treadmill run, I just need to do it.

This half marathon training is, and I kid you not, the first thing I have attempted to do since high school that I have (almost) seen through to the very end. I set this goal and as of December 11, I will have achieved it. So why not get a little crazy and force myself to run every day for 19 more days after the half?

Seriously, what am I thinking?

I don’t know how this is going to go, but what I do know is that if I seriously step up to this challenge and meet my goal of running 1 or more miles a day from Novermber 24th (5k Turkey Dash – check) through December 31, then on January 1 I will be treating myself to one of these breakfast every day for a week.

Is anyone else planning to partake in the Runner’s World Run Streak? If so, please tweet me @@GTR_Danica every day during the month and yell at me to get my butt out the door and run.

3 Comments

Filed under Goals, Running

3 responses to “I’ll Probably Regret This Later

  1. Where are you doing a Turkey Dash? I have been looking for one on active and I can’t find anything near Simi. We are coming home for Turkey Time!

  2. Thanksgiving morning at the Thousand Oaks Mall! I think you can register on Tuesday or Wednesday at Road Runner Sports in Newbury. You should totally do it!!! It’s so fun and it’s supposed to be rainy which is actually good because the first year I did it the weather was over 80 degrees. I’ll be super excited if you run it too!

  3. Jocelyn

    I’m in! I’m going to sign up tonight. I think the BF is going to join me. I feel a PR coming.

Leave a Reply

