Half Marathon Mile Dedication – Pt. 2

If you didn’t see Part 1, you can find it here.

Mile 8:

The Jordan Family – My aunt, uncle and cousins are awesome and are basically an extension of my family. My best family memories include them, especially at Christmas. We always have the best time at Christmas Eve so I’m starting the party early by dedicating this mile to them.

Mile 9:

The Translateur Family: Jason’s family is amazing and I’m so glad to be a part of it for the past 5+ years. It’s always a great time full of laughs when they are around. And let’s be honest, they raised a pretty dang awesome son so they are rockin’ in my book. I’ll be pushing through mile 9 for them!

Mile 10:

The Fords: I’ve known Jodi since Jr. High and J has known Casey since High School and over the past couple years, these two have become some of our greatest friends. It’s so fun to have another couple around that shares similar interests and goals. It also helps when we can ship the boys off together when we want to shop or have craft night šŸ™‚ They are two of the greatest people I know and they’re always opening up their home, fridge and wine bottles to Jason and I. And Jodi made the adorable Christmas hair bow I’ll be sporting tomorrow. Mile 10’s for you guys!

Mile 11:

My Girlfriends: Friends are the family you choose and I think I’ve chosen a great group of girlfriends. I can always count on them for a great time. My friends are amazing, and I love that they totally understand when I have to whip out my camera to take 6 pictures of my dinner for the blog. I have the BEST times with these ladies, from dinners and wine tastings to craft nights and weekend hikes, these girls are so fun and I’m so happy to have such a great group of friends to dedicate my 11th mile to.

Mile 12:

The Ragnar Team: Although I have yet to meet any of these awesome ladies IRL, I can honestly say that they have inspired me so much. Through reading all of their running triumphs and tips, I feel so much more prepared for tomorrow’s race. These girls are too freaking cool and I’m so excited to be part of a team of strong, athletic and gorgeous people! Getting trhough mile 12 is going to be tough, but I’ll be thinking of how far they have all come and will be sure to kick it a little extra.

Mile 13:

Jason: By the time I hit mile 13, I have no doubt that I’m going to be wiped out. I’ll also be SO happy to have come so far. I want to dedicate this final mile to the most amazing person I’ve ever met. Jason, I cannot tell you enough how much I love you and how lucky I feel to have you in my life. You are so special to me and you inspire me every day to live life to the fullest and most important, to be CONFIDENT. As I work through this last mile, I know my legs will be tired, I’ll probably have aches and pains galore, and I will just be ready to be done, but thanks to you, I will also KNOW that I can do it. I’m going to kick as hard as I can to get through Mile 13 and as that finish line comes into view, I’ll be thinking of you and how hard you have worked and how much you’ve done to make my life so amazing. I love you Jas!

The Last .1:

I’m not going to dedicate this final small stretch to anyone. This last tenth of a mile, where I plan on sprinting as hard as I can, is going to be all for me. I need to remember that the main reason I’m running this half is to prove to myself that I can do anything I set my mind to. I’m going to go all out and kick it through that finish line just because I want to it.

Thank you to everyone on this list and to everyone else in my life who has inspired me to try new things and taught me valuable lessons to succeed in all that I do. I love you all!

First Half Marathon – December 11, 2011

10 Comments

Filed under Half Marathons

10 responses to “Half Marathon Mile Dedication – Pt. 2

  1. Good luck tomorrow Danica!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. Marge Vorgitch

    Good luck tomorrow Danica.

  3. Have a wonderful time tomorrow! You will be amazing! These mile dedications will make it all very meaningful. Good luck!!!

  4. I love the mile dedications! Such a great idea! I hope it went well today. Can’t wait to read all about it!

  5. Sarah OUaL

    So happy for you! Doubly happy you’re already planning #2 šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

