I’m so motivated I’m scaring myself

I just did something so out of character for me I’m still in shock. It’s only the second day of January and I’ve already paid all my student loan, car payment, and credit card bills. I usually wait until the day they are due to scramble home and pay them on time, but miraculously, I paid almost 2 weeks early this month.

Things are getting crazy!

I also signed up for my next half marathon on March 24:

I’ll be running in the Pacific Half Marathon and I’m really hoping to run it in 2:10 or less.

In an effort to help prepare for this race and work on getting a bit faster, I just placed an order for these beauties:

Runner’s World Complete Book or Women’s Running

Runner’s World The Runner’s Diet

I’m not a natural athlete or a particularly fast runner, but considering that much of my training for my first half marathon consisted of the trial and error method and some skipped long runs, I think I can definitely step it up with a little guidance from these books. A sub-2:10 half would feel like an incredible accomplishment for me and might be the next step to (possibly) attempting a full marathon in the future.

Other Productive Things I’ve Done in 2012\

– I haven’t bitten my nails since I sucked it up and got a gel manicure on 12/30. 3 days and going strong!

– I painted my toenails dark purple so that my two black toenails are no longer visible. Lovely right?

– I picked up a pair of $15 Nike Hero Shorts (one of my faves) at Sports Authority today. They were in my size. I left without buying them. Truly a New Year miracle.

– My NYE dress is sitting on my bed and I am absolutely planning on hanging it up before I go to sleep instead of tossing it onto the floor.

Has anyone read any good or motivating running books? 

What is your favorite book ever? J and I just finally finished the whole Harry Potter series and they are the best books I have ever read. I think the last one was my favorite. I bawled my way through the final 100 pages and now I’m dying to finally watch the last movies.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Goals, Half Marathons, What I'm Reading

9 responses to “I’m so motivated I’m scaring myself

  1. those books look good….i was just thinking the other day how i should maybe get some running books. you’ll have to let me know how they are!

    oh, and that’s definitely some good self control…i have a really hard time not buying workout/running stuff when it’s on sale…

  2. Harry Potter is the best book serious ever!

    Have you read 50 Marathons in 50 Days. its really motivating!

  3. I got the Kara Goucher book for Christmas, but I haven’t cracked it open yet. Maybe I should take that to read in the van during Ragnar?

    I don’t think I have a favorite book of all time, or even a favorite author. I’ve never read harry potter, or any such books. Sci-fi/wizards/vampires aren’t really my thing. I prefer mysteries or chic books.

  4. Hi there! Just found your blog – love it! I am currently reading “Smart Marathon Training” by Jeff Horowitz. It has a bunch of different full and half-marathon plans as well as stretches and strength training plans. Good luck on your half in March!! I’m hoping to PR in the half this year too.

    • Thanks for saying hi! I’ll have to check that book out. I’m terrible about stretching and I never feel like I’m doing the right stretches so that sounds super helpful. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Ask and You Shall Receive | girlsthatrun

  6. Pingback: Back to Back | girlsthatrun

Leave a Reply

