The Secret to Treadmill Running & My Embarrassing Secret

Ran 2 miles in 20 minutes today and Monday. 4 miles in 40 minutes on Saturday.

I’ve been slacking on the blogging again! Forgive me. I think it’s the cold weather that’s finally made it’s way to So Cal. All I want to do when I get home at night is take a hot shower and crawl under the covers.

Today, I finally discovered the secret to prevent me from hating the treadmill. It turns out, my embarrassing secret is, in fact, the secret to treadmill running.

I LOVE bad movies.

Especially bad disaster movies. If the world is ending or volcanoes are wiping out L,  then I’ve probably seen it and loved it.

[source]

[source]

I don’t know what it is about these kind of movies, but I can watch them over and over and never get tired of them.

Today, I was not feeling the gym at all. I was tired, cranky and really didn’t feel like changing into my freezing cold running clothes after work. I decided to switch things up and make today an easy 2-mile run and move my 5-mile tempo run to Friday (I’m following my Smartcoach plan to a T, other than switching up the actual days I do the runs).

I got to the gym and realized that most people must have been feeling the same way today because the gym was empty and I easily snagged a treadmill right away. Imagine my surprise when I looked up at the TV in front of me and instead of the usual snoozefest:

[source]

I found myself watching this:

My 20-minute run flew by so fast I ended up going a little over and not even paying attention to the time. I was so enthralled in the movie I didn’t want to end my run.

I’ve tried watching movies or TV during my treadmill runs before, but nothing usually holds my attention for long enough. It’s too easy to let my mind wander while watching Top Chef or Real Housewives, and my usual favorite shows like NCIS and any other crime drama require way too much focus to read the subtitles so I usually end up almost falling off the treadmill.

[source]

OK, let’s be honest. It might not be the subtitles making me fall off the treadmill.

Anyway…

Disaster movies are the perfect combination of action-packed stunts and explosions and minimal dialogue that really isn’t important to the plot anyways. Love that.

Now I just need to download the rest of 2012 to my ipod touch for Friday’s 5-mile tempo run.

Do you watch TV, read or listen to music while working out? I get motion sickness if I read in the car or on cardio equipment! I can only manage to read when I’m on the stationary bikes.

Any other disaster movie lovers? What’s your favorite movie? I have to go with Independence Day.

2 Comments

Filed under Running

2 responses to “The Secret to Treadmill Running & My Embarrassing Secret

  1. I would have to bet that a good run session could be done with watching Dexter!!! Not sure if that’s your thing, but if you’re into disaster movies…a mind boggling show would work, right 😉 ?

Leave a Reply

