Why I REALLY Run

A while back, I posted this reflection on why I like running. While it still holds true, I realized last week that there is another reason why I REALLY run:

I am about as coordinated as Elaine from Seinfeld:

[source]

I used to dance and was a cheerleader in high school, but apparently the past 7 years of sitting behind a desk/computer/in a classroom has really put a damper on any dancing skills I used to have.

I learned this last week when taking a Zumba class with Tiff and our friend Jen. This pretty much sums it up:

[source]

In my defense, I do believe I may have burned even more calories through my spastic arm-flailing and attempts to avoid bumping into people, than if I had just done the moves correctly. And somehow, miraculously, I have been convinced to return to the class tonight. I guess I didn’t embarrass Tiff and Jen too much.

The class definitely made me realize that my love for running may be largely due to the fact that it requires limited coordination. Put one foot in front of the other and try not to trip. Easy breezy. Unless you are this guy:

[source]

5 Comments

Filed under Running, Workouts

5 responses to “Why I REALLY Run

  1. I’m not coordinated at all. This post doesn’t apply to me as I even have bad running form. Oh my god, the Elaine dance is just classic.

  2. I’ve wanted to try Zumba for a long time, but just haven’t gotten around to it!

  3. I can’t stop laughing! What we feel like vs. what we look like. SPOT ON SISTER! See you tomorrow?!?!

  4. Kim Vorgitch

    I think you may be following in your mama’s footstep and just have early onset O- L- D. Sorry it happens to us all ( :

Leave a Reply

