PR’s–Yeah, They’re Nice

Yesterday my Dad and I ran Compete Green’s Half Marathon of the Harbors in Ventura. As you can already tell from the title, I PR’d. But I didn’t just PR. I kicked my previous 2:18 half marathon’s butt.

2:10:04 – 9:55 pace – heck.yes.

I cannot even begin to explain how good it felt to see that 2:10 on the clock when I crossed the finish line.

It felt even better than finding out Adam Levine is back on the market (for my single friends of course, Jas).

I’m still riding the runner’s high today and considering some bigger (maybe twice as big?) races in the near future.

I woke up at the lovely hour of 4AM to down a couple cups of coffee, eat my PB toast and watch “Unwrapped” – Easter Treats” where I learned the first Peep took 27 hours to make by hand.

Since my favorite cheerleader was sitting this one out (and sleeping in) I had to resort to a Myspace-era self portrait for race morning.

IMG_3310

All set for #3 and rocking my SkinnyRunner shirt and white sparkle BIC Band

I really enjoyed this race. The course was flat and fast. I started out really strong and my legs felt nice and warmed up from last week’s race. I was shocked to look down and see I was hitting well below my 10-minute mile goal pace right off the bat.

image

The course was an out and back from Ventura Harbor to Channel Islands with great views of the ocean and million dollar beach homes. The first couple miles do pass by a sewage refinery so if you have a sensitive nose that could be a problem.

We hit the halfway point and turned back and that’s when I hit the wall. Not the mental runner’s wall, the actual physical wall of wind. Holy smokes was it windy. I literally felt like I was pushing through an air tunnel at some points. The last half of my splits definitely reflect the change in conditions:

image

I forgot to hit stop on my Garmin until a few seconds after I came through the finish so I wasn’t sure of my actual time until the results were posted today. But now it’s official:

image

Now the only problem is I’m going to have to set a new goal. Sub-2 half marathon? It could happen.

All in all, I would absolutely recommend the Half Marathon of the Harbors. It was definitely a small race (only about 500 runners), but it was well organized. They had water and Gatorade about every 2 miles and they handed out gels at the halfway point and again at about mile 9 or 10. The volunteers were great and although there wasn’t a ton of crowd support until the finish, all the volunteers and police made sure to cheer on the runners. Also, the yells of “Don’t Stop!” whenever people saw my shirt were super helpful. How could I be caught walking while wearing that? I couldn’t. Embarrassing.

If anyone is looking for a flat, fast and well-run small race then check out Compete Green! They have a ton of different events that sound really fun and they put in a lot of effort to make everything environmentally friendly – from using no paper goods to advertise to using plastic cups at the aid stations (that volunteers pick up and recycle after!) they really put on a great race that everyone can feel great about. Love that!

So here’s to finishing half #3! I’ve got the annual Gator Run 5k in a couple weeks followed by Ragnar SoCal in just under 3 weeks! It’s going to be an exciting month! I hope your April is off to just as a great of a start!

8 Comments

Filed under Half Marathons, Races, Running

8 responses to “PR’s–Yeah, They’re Nice

  1. Congratulations on your PR! I got a PR this weekend too! Weee! It was a 5k, but I totally don’t care. It’s been a while since I’ve raced, so it was nice to finish with a 5 minute PR!

    • Hey a PR is a PR and let me tell you, I have a 5k in two weeks and I’m MORE nervous about those now! They are so much faster and I get all pissy-pants if I don’t PR on them now even by a second. Congrats and yay for double PR weekend!

  2. Way to go!!! You’ll be sub 2 in no time :).

  3. Congrats on the PR! I am aiming for a 2:10 goal and it’s been real hardwork! Enjoy the runners’s high and sub 2 is on the horizon soon!

  4. You can most definitely do a sub-2 half! I just ran a 1:53 half last week… my last half was Nov. 2011 where I finished in 2:27! So, I now firmly believe that awesome things can happen with the right training and mindset, even in a short amount of time. It also helps to run the race with someone with the same time goal… at least it did for me. Good luck!!!

    • Wow! You cut over 30 min off your half time? That’s AWESOME! OK now I am totally motivated and I’m definitely taking your advice and finding someone with the same goal time. Thanks and congrats!!

Leave a Reply

