So Close & Mile Dedications

The Holiday Half is in 3 days!! I cannot believe how fast the last month has gone. I’m getting really excited but also nervous, anxious and slightly terrified.

I’m kind of having a Jessie Spano moment…

On one hand, this really is a no pressure race. It’s my first half, I have nothing to legitimately compare it too. On the other hand, I’m the queen of setting unrealistic expectations about everything! I’m a little worried about not meeting the goals I’ve set for myself. I can’t help but feel a little competitive. I want to have fun and enjoy the race, but I also want to be able to brag a little after. I know just finishing will be an accomplishment in and of itself (what does “in and of” really mean btw?), but I do still have certain numbers in mind that I’d like to see in my finishing time.

I’m going to be super lame and not voice them out loud for fear of total failure embarrassment.

At least the half won’t have hurdles.

So remember when I posted about dedicating each mile of the race to someone important in my life and sending them a Christmas card to let them know? Well the Christmas cards didn’t happen. I just got my birthday Thank You cards out and that was more than enough card writing for a bit (but so worthwhile as I was very thankful to everyone I sent one to).

Instead, I’m going to take a page from Ashley’s book and do a couple of posts over the next 2 days with my Mile Dedications (and congrats to Ash for rocking a sub-4 first marathon!).

So be on the look out for a couple sappy posts over the next day or two. I’ll try not to take them too seriously.

3 Comments

Filed under Half Marathons

3 responses to “So Close & Mile Dedications

  1. Marge Vorgitch

    Danica, good luck. You are truly a winner! Thank you so much for the birthday thank you card. Love you very much! Grandma

  2. Pingback: My First (Hilly) Half Marathon | girlsthatrun

Leave a comment